Continuing the scavenger hunt in Plano

I decided to spend some time today getting photos of my bike in front of several sculptures/fountains;memorials that I knew existed in Plano, and found some unexpected ones.  Or at least interesting objects.

I knew that Chisolm trail would take me by the Veterens memorial, which contained three pieces I wanted to include, and would drop me off on 15th, not far from the fourth piece I wanted to get at the Downtown Plano DART station.

The Veterens memorial contains three pieces by two artists; David Hickman and David Newton.   This is a beautiful, contemplative spot that people should really visit.

Artist:David Hickman

Artist:David Hickman

Artist:David Newton

Artist:David Newton

Artist:David Newton?

Artist:David Newton?

And DART has at least one piece of public art at each of their stations.  I believe this one is called the Iron Horse.

DART-IronHorse

After I picked up the photo of the Iron Horse, I stopped across the street at the Farmer’s Market and did a little shopping.  If you haven’t been there I highly recommend it!  I came across two additional memorials on this ride as well.

Trees for Tots

Trees for Tots

Terra Lynn

Terra Lynn

Finally, I came across this sun dial and benches at a private residence along the trail, that I thought was noteworthy, though I am undecided if it fits the scavenger hunt.

ResidentialSunDial

 

Leave a Reply

