The passage of time

ImageI was talking with a friend the other day and he mentioned that he and his family went to see the dog breeder again.  This is their third visit to this breeder who has a litter of puppies that they are planing to adopt one from.  He mentioned that it will be another month before the actual adoption occurs, and it is very difficult for their young daughter.  For her waiting a month seems like a lifetime.  This got us to talking about how our perception of time changes as we grow older.

My rides for the last two mornings have gotten me to think about that conversation.  It seems like only yesterday that I was riding in the chilly morning, yet it was seven or eight months.  I have been so enjoying my routine that this year has seemed to pass in the blink of an eye!  It has been too long since I visited friends and done any camping (last winter).  Given the arrival of cooler temperatures, it is time to start planning my next trip.

I have recently finished building up my new touring bike, as shown in the recent post on the photo scavenger hunt, and have put about a hundred miles on it.  It is now up on my bike stand to get its final tune-up and prepare for an overnight tour to put it through its paces while carrying gear.  The rain earlier in the week gave me a chance to try out my new water proof panniers, Arkel Dolphins, that I will be using for tours now, instead of my prior use of my Arkel Shoppers for these short trips. 

These panniers are needed since I am planning on carrying camping and cooking equipment on these up coming trips, which I haven’t done before now.  After I have had a chance to use them and the campeur a little more I plan on posting a review for both items.

Today’s photo is from my library and this mornings clear skies and morning star made me think this would be a great illustration for today’s post.

Leave a Reply

