The Photo Scavenger Hunt

Bike Friendly RIchardson posted a challenge for a photo scavenger hunt of 14 outdoor statues in Richardson.

You are invited to participate in Richardson’s first Ride And Seek, Photo Scavenger Hunt. Throughout the month of October, we are inviting and motivating folks to get out and ride their bikes, explore their neighborhoods and win prizes! This year’s theme will be “The Sculptures of Richardson”.

I found the idea to be a great motivator to get out and do a longer ride, which I haven’t been doing much for the last two years.  It also gave me a great opportunity to put my newly built up touring bike through its inaugural paces.  It would be much further than I have been typically riding (15-25 miles) since my round trip distance to Richardson is 25 miles by itself.  So I planned out a decent route to pick up all 14 statutes in a single trip.

I did have a route problem on a residential street, Dumont Dr, which was closed and impassible so the day required some on the go rerouting to avoid some roads I would like to avoid riding on.  Namely Coit and Beltline.  I did ride on Spring Valley to cross US 75 and it wasn’t particularly pleasant but it was doable.  I think Richardson could use some better pedestrian/bicycle crossings for the US 75 barrier.

Overall it was a great day, and I wish to really thank Bike Friendly Richardson for the idea and the challenge.  I think I will try to find some kind of similar scavenger hunt in Plano.  Though I am not really familiar with any outdoor statutes here.  Anyway, here are the requisite 14 photos of my bike and the sculptures

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

And to top it off a screen capture of the southern part of the route I took between the statutes!

Image

Again, thanks for the great idea and experience BFR!  It was a great day!

Leave a Reply

